As you could probably tell by the name of this post, I will be discussing the latest Samsung spots featuring none other than Lil Wayne

If you don’t like Nike or Lil Wayne, I am very sorry because this week I have been somewhat biased in my selection of ads. BUT if you don’t like Lil Wayne, then you probably don’t like my writing style either, so I’m crossing my fingers and hoping I don’t lose my MASSIVE amount of visitors (200).

Yes, that was a joke. (Insert laughter here)

Back to the topic at hand. 

Lil Wayne has starred in multiple ads for Samsung (about 3 as far as I can tell), and it seems that every one is progressively better than the last.

So why do I like these ads so much?

They come across as sincere–you know, except for the disclaimer on the bottom of the ad that pops up saying, “DO NOT ATTEMPT” when Lil Wayne is pouring champagne ontop of his new Samsung S7.

While the commercial centers on something that is not recommended by Samsung, it allows Lil Wayne’s true personality to show. He is a funny, light-hearted party animal. THAT is why these spots (and this one in particular) work so well.

Whether you love or hate his music, the guy is hard not to love. He always seems to be happy and excited yet somewhat laid-back, and this spot does an excellent job of showing just that.

Before Wayne was poppin’ bottles and pouring them on his phone, he starred in two other commercials; one entitled, Canoe, and the other, Elephant Baby. These two spots focus on the incredible virtual reality feature that the S7 can handle (VR goggles sold separately, of course).

These spots feature Wesley Snipes too! What could be better than that?

Elephant Baby, as you might have guessed, shows Lil Wayne sitting on his couch and virtually delivering a baby elephant. Personally, I am rather glad that the ‘delivery’ is virtual, because I am pretty sure that I don’t want to see ANYONE delivering a baby elephant on TV.

Canoe, again, pretty obvious content here, focuses on Wayne speaking with Snipes about his virtual reality experiences, but Snipes seems relatively unbothered…(until the end).

Hope that you all enjoyed. Let me know if you have any comments!

