In this day and age it pays to be able to understand the emoji language. It seems like these popular digital images aren’t going anywhere anytime soon.

Pepsi launched their new #PepsiMoji campaign in a few countries last year and will continue using the campaign in most of their markets, including the United States.

“The soda brand is planning to market specially designed emoji cans and bottles in more than 100 global markets this year, including the U.S, drastically expanding a program that began last year in Russia, Canada and Thailand. The marketer calls them ‘PepsiMojis.'”  (Ad Age) 

The brand wants you “to say it with Pepsi” this year and they mean it. Pepsi has launched 70 uniquely designed cans to illustrate your thoughts, interests, and feelings.

Who needs words anyway?

Cans and bottles with emojis aren’t enough for you? Not to worry, Pepsi plans to create an entire collection of PepsiMoji-inspired sunglasses with well-known fashion designer Jeremy Scott–Yeah, the guy behind those adidas shoes with the wings on them.

I have to say, I love the creativity of these campaigns nowadays. It seems like sky is the limit for a lot of brands as they attempt to connect with their target audience.

I just wonder if this is the right approach…

Sure, millennials love emojis but, I am a little bored with them already. Is a bottle of Pepsi with a smiling sun really what appeals to this group, or are they aiming for the next generation, Gen Z?

Maybe I am just getting old and marketers don’t care for my age group anymore.

Maybe the big brand campaigns are targeting an entirely new audience.

Maybe I am crazy. I am not sure, but what I can say is that this campaign seems to be somewhat audience-confused. Jeremy Scott, to me, is a designer of an older generation, like Gen X. Emojis, on the other hand, seem to cater to the younger generations (Gen Y & Gen Z). So is this an attempt to bring together a large portion of their audience with one campaign or is this just another example of marketers being somewhat behind the times?

I mean, look, I get it, emojis can transcend language. An emoji means the same thing in the U.S. as it does in China, but will their audience use them?

You tell me.

 

References:

http://adage.com/article/cmo-strategy/pepsi-preps-global-emoji-bottle-campaign/302748/

